Week 4

Big pack of Mi’kmaq

Mi’kmaq is a group of Natives that are located in Quebec, Canada and I believe are in the subarctic cultural area. Their current issue at the moment is the Bay of Fundy. 30 people from different Mi’kmaq nations marched to try to get Minister Dominic LeBlanc to designate the bay and other rivers and streams as critical habitat for the salmon that are an endangered species. The minister was not there but the office gave them a statement and said that they understand the concern but they don’t think that things are going to “seriously harm the fish”. They have been defending these rivers and places and will continue to do so as long as they believe it is right. I chose Canada natives because I know nothing about them so I started there. I chose Quebec because it is from what I hear the “French” part of Canada which has always interested me since I speak french. Then I chose the Mi’kmaq because I thought their name was awesome and I liked how they spelled it. The topic interests me because I see a lot of articles and news reports these days that concern rivers, lakes, waters of some kind and sometimes because of an endangered species. It’s interesting because I always thought that we were supposed to try to protect endangered species no matter what but as I read all of these articles it seems whoever is in charge of the whatever, like the Minister, don’t really care about it. So I want to know more about both sides of these types of issues.

Here’s the Mi’kmaq article I read:

http://globalnews.ca/news/2918662/mikmaq-communities-join-forces-in-defence-of-the-bay-of-fundy/

2016-09-02t20-23-44-1z-1280x720

Above ^ is a picture of some Mi’kmaqs supporting the bay.

Cormier, P. (2016, September 2). Mi’kmaq communities join forces in defence of the Bay of Fundy.
     Retrieved October 19, 2016, from http://i1.wp.com/media.globalnews.ca/videostatic/107/443/

2016-09-02T20-23-44.1Z–1280×720.jpg?w=670&quality=70&strip=all

Image result for mi'kmaq protecting the bay of fundy

Above ^ is some gas protesters occupying the ministers office area.

Fahmy, G. (2016, September 2). Alton gas protesters occupy fisheries minister's office [Photograph].
     Retrieved from http://i.cbc.ca/1.3746302.1472836616!/fileImage/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/
     derivatives/16x9_620/protest-3.jpg
Leave a Reply

